Software for clinics & diagnostic labs. From ₹399/mo, 10-day free trial. See plans →

Guide · Choosing a LIS

Top lab information systems in India: an honest, sourced comparison

Search “top lab information systems in India” or “best LIS India” and most pages you find are either a vendor quietly ranking itself first, or a generic listicle with no visible sourcing. This page names the main options sold to Indian diagnostic labs today, HealthFlow included, and compares them on seven concrete, checkable things. Every competitor claim is dated and sourced to a specific page on their own public site.

Last updated 5 August 2026 · claims sourced & dated below

Key takeaways

  • Check seven things, not a star rating. Published pricing, own-number WhatsApp, GST invoicing, whether each referring doctor gets their own commission statement, real white-label, a self-serve trial, and lock-in terms.
  • “Referral management” usually means a portal. Across every named competitor we checked, the public feature is tracking or reporting a commission inside a portal or app, not a statement sent to each doctor.
  • Pricing transparency varies more than it looks. A headline monthly figure sometimes turns out to be an annual commitment once you read the vendor’s own fine print.
  • Birlamedisoft and Medixcel are named here, not scored. We have not completed a dated verification pass on either, so we do not fabricate claims about them.

The seven named options in this roundup

These are the lab information systems most often compared against each other by Indian diagnostic labs shopping in 2026. A one-line description of what each one is, before the table:

  • HealthFlow, built specifically for independent Indian diagnostic labs and small chains: transparent pricing, own-number WhatsApp delivery and per-test referral commission with a statement for every doctor.
  • CrelioHealth (creliohealth.com), a well-known cloud LIMS built for labs of every size, from single collection points to large multi-country chains, with named pricing tiers and an annual contract.
  • LabSmart (labsmartlis.com), a lower-priced pathology and radiology reporting tool with a large programmatic-SEO footprint and a genuinely strong public review base.
  • Flabs (flabslis.com, built by Diagnoshuttle Private Limited), marketed as “AI-Powered Pathology Lab Software” with a headline first-month-for-₹1 offer and a free doctor-referral app.
  • Drlogy (drlogy.com), a large, multi-vertical healthcare-software company selling pathology-lab software alongside hospital management, radiology and specialty products, with a genuine free tier.
  • Birlamedisoft, a named option in the Indian pathology-lab software market. We have not completed a dated, sourced verification pass on their public claims, so this page does not assert specifics about them.
  • Medixcel, another named option in the same market, in the same position: listed here, not scored, for the same honesty reason.

The comparison table

Every HealthFlow, CrelioHealth, LabSmart, Flabs and Drlogy cell below is dated to July 2026 and sourced to a specific page on that vendor’s own public site, via our dedicated, cited compare pages. Where a capability could not be confirmed on a vendor’s public pages, that is stated directly rather than assumed either way.

Dimension HealthFlow CrelioHealth LabSmart Flabs Drlogy Birlamedisoft Medixcel
Published pricing (India) ✓ ₹399 to ₹1,999/mo, every plan public ~ ₹8,000 to ₹25,000+/mo published; Enterprise = custom quote ~ “₹417/mo” headline is labelled “only for your estimation”; real billing is annual (₹4,999+GST/yr) ✗ No standalone pricing page (their /pricing 404s); numbers only inside their own trial/compare pages ~ Free tier (₹0) published; Premium (core LIMS) is “Call for Free Demo & Pricing” Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
WhatsApp from the lab’s own number ✓ Dedicated number, tracked sent → delivered → read ~ WhatsApp channel confirmed; own vs shared sending number not stated ~ “WhatsApp, SMS & email” advertised; own vs shared sending number not stated ~ WhatsApp is one of several delivery channels listed; own-number sending not confirmed ✗ Not named as a feature; a login-based portal is the delivery mechanism advertised instead Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
GST-compliant tax invoicing ✓ Lab’s own GSTIN, HSN/SAC codes, CGST/SGST/IGST breakup on every bill Not confirmed as a named product feature on their public pages Not confirmed as a named product feature on their public pages Not confirmed as a named product feature on their public pages Not confirmed as a named product feature on their public pages Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
Referral payouts: statement to each doctor ✓ Commission per test; statement to every referrer on WhatsApp + Excel export (higher plans) ~ Provider portal tracks bookings and reports; no commission-calculation language found ~ Doctor portal gives real-time case access; no commission-calculation feature found ~ Free doctor app shows “Commission Reports” and live status, inside an app the doctor installs ~ “Autocalculate Referral Payment” (Premium) plus portal tracking; no per-doctor statement found Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
White-label branding ✓ Full re-brand: letterhead, WhatsApp messages, QR page (higher plans) ~ Portal and comms theming; which tier includes it is not published ~ Report customization (logo, letterhead); delivery-message and patient-page branding not verified ~ Branded report templates; WhatsApp sender, QR page and custom domain branding not verified ~ “Customized reports” listed (Premium); scope beyond the report document not specified Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
Self-serve free trial ✓ 10-day free trial, every plan ✗ No self-serve trial found; demo or quote only ~ 5-day free trial advertised sitewide ~ Full first month for ₹1 (flabs-lite); a separate policy page states no refunds, with no trial carve-out shown ~ Genuine ₹0 “Lifetime Free” tier for a basic listing; core LIMS sits behind a demo call Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page
Contract & lock-in ✓ Month-to-month, no lock-in, export any time ✗ Annual contract; “plan tier cannot be changed mid-contract year” (their own pricing page) ✗ Real billing is annual or half-yearly despite the monthly headline figure ~ No lock-in language found on standard plans; their trial page says “cancel anytime” while a separate policy page (dated Oct 2023) says no cancellations or refunds are entertained Not stated on the public pages we checked Not independently verified for this page Not independently verified for this page

✓ confirmed on the vendor’s public site · ~ partial, or claimed but not independently verifiable there · ✗ not shown on the vendor’s public site, as of July 2026. Sources: docs/research/competitive-intel/LABSMART, FLABSLIS and DRLOGY_COMPETITIVE_INTELLIGENCE.md (internal teardowns), and /compare/vs-crelio, /compare/vs-labsmart, /compare/vs-flabs and /compare/vs-drlogy on this site, each with its own inline citations.

Almost every vendor in this category says “referral management.” Very few of them mean “we actually pay the referrer.”

Where HealthFlow’s edges are real

Two gaps repeat across nearly every competitor we checked. The first is where the doctor sees the commission on the referral side: CrelioHealth’s provider portal, LabSmart’s doctor portal, Flabs’s doctor app and Drlogy’s “Autocalculate Referral Payment” bullet each give a referring doctor visibility into bookings, cases or a commission figure. Where there is a figure, the doctor has to open a portal or app to see it. HealthFlow’s Pay-Run works the other way: it computes each commission the moment a test is billed and sends every referring doctor and consultant their statement on WhatsApp, plus an Excel export, on higher plans. The payment itself stays with the lab, as it does everywhere.

The second is pricing and contract transparency. CrelioHealth publishes named tiers but locks the plan for a full year. LabSmart’s headline monthly figure is explicitly captioned “only for your estimation” on its own pricing page, with the real commitment billed annually. Flabs’s standalone pricing URL returns a 404. Drlogy publishes its free tier’s price but not its Premium tier’s. HealthFlow publishes every plan on one page (₹399 to ₹1,999/month), billed month-to-month, with a 10-day free trial and no onboarding fee.

Two smaller, verifiable edges round this out. HealthFlow sends reports and bills from the lab’s own dedicated WhatsApp number, tracked sent through delivered through read; none of the four competitors above states its WhatsApp sending identity on its public site. And HealthFlow puts the lab’s own GSTIN, HSN/SAC codes and a full CGST/SGST/IGST breakup on every bill, a named feature we could not confirm as advertised on any of the four competitors’ public pages either (see our GST for diagnostic labs guide for the mechanics).

Where the named competitors are genuinely stronger

This is the part a vendor-authored roundup usually skips. It shouldn’t. Here is where, as of July 2026, each named competitor has a real edge over HealthFlow:

  • CrelioHealth: bundled analyzer integration (3 to 6 analyzers included depending on the tier), audit tooling positioned around NABL ISO 15189 and NABH, claimed scale (“2,500+ labs worldwide” plus stated ISO 27001, SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR adherence), and adjacent radiology (PACS) and inventory products in the same suite.
  • LabSmart: a genuinely large, compounding review moat (“2,500+ labs,” “600+ Google reviews,” a 4.9 average rating), named human support staff with a 7-day money-back guarantee, a “Diagnostic Center” tier that bundles imaging billing (USG, X-ray, CT, MRI, ECG) with pathology under one login, and a fixed annual-prepay option for a lab that wants that.
  • Flabs: the lowest possible cost to try it (a full first month for ₹1), a free dedicated app for referring doctors, a much larger public content library (roughly 410 blog posts plus free calculators), and a public partner/reseller program.
  • Drlogy: a genuinely free ₹0/month tier, platform breadth for a group running a hospital or specialty clinic alongside a lab (pathology, hospital management, radiology and 28 specialty products under one brand), named analyzer and machine integration (Mindray, Roche, Siemens, Sysmex over HL7/ASTM/RS232), and a claimed reach (“51,000+ Labs, Hospitals & Doctors”) larger than any newer platform can show.

How to use this table yourself

Run every product you are seriously considering, HealthFlow included, through the same seven checks: ask for the price in writing at your real branch and patient volume, ask whether WhatsApp sends from your own number or a shared one, ask whether the bill is a real GST tax invoice with a CGST/SGST/IGST breakup, ask whether each referring doctor gets their own commission statement, ask which plan includes white-label, ask for a self-serve trial rather than only a demo call, and ask what happens the day you want to leave. A vendor that answers all seven plainly, in writing, is telling you something about how it will behave after you have signed.

For the deeper version of each named comparison, with the full sourcing, see HealthFlow vs CrelioHealth, HealthFlow vs LabSmart, HealthFlow vs Flabs and HealthFlow vs Drlogy. If you are further back in the process and want a vendor-neutral evaluation framework instead of named products, start with best lab software for small labs in India.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best lab information system (LIS) in India?

There is no single answer that holds for every lab, and any page that hands you a ranked top 5 with a score out of ten and no visible method is not being straight with you. The honest version: check seven things for any product you are considering (published pricing, WhatsApp delivery from your own number, GST-compliant invoicing, whether each referring doctor gets their own commission statement, genuine white-label, a self-serve trial, and lock-in terms), against your own test volume and referrer list. The comparison table on this page runs that check against the main named options sold in India as of July 2026, with every competitor claim dated and sourced.

Who wrote this comparison, and can I trust it?

HealthFlow wrote and publishes this page, and we are one of the vendors compared on it. We are telling you that plainly instead of hiding it. To earn your trust anyway, every claim about a competitor here is dated, sourced to a specific page on their own public site (via our own /compare pages, cited below), and marked as unverified where we could not confirm something rather than guessed at. Judge this page, and every vendor comparison you read including a competitor’s, by whether it does that.

How do Indian LIS platforms show referring doctors their commission?

As of July 2026, the pattern across the vendors we checked is consistent: CrelioHealth, LabSmart, Flabs and Drlogy each describe a referring-doctor portal or app that shows bookings, report status or a commission figure. Where a commission figure is shown, it sits inside a portal or app the doctor has to open. HealthFlow’s Pay-Run computes each commission the moment a test is billed and sends every payee their statement on WhatsApp, with no login or app, plus an Excel export, on higher plans. None of these products, HealthFlow included, moves the money itself; the lab still pays. See our Pay-Run page for the mechanics.

Which Indian LIS platforms publish their pricing openly?

It varies, and “published” turns out to mean different things. CrelioHealth publishes three named tiers with numbers for its lower plans but routes its top Enterprise tier to a custom quote. LabSmart shows a headline monthly figure that its own pricing page labels “only for your estimation,” with the real commitment billed annually. Flabs’s standalone /pricing URL returned a 404 as of July 2026, with numbers surfacing only inside its own trial and compare pages. Drlogy publishes its free tier’s price (₹0) but not its Premium tier, which is “Call for Free Demo & Pricing.” HealthFlow publishes every plan (₹399 to ₹1,999/month) on one page, billed month-to-month.

What about Birlamedisoft and Medixcel? Why aren’t they scored in the table?

Both are named, real options in the Indian diagnostic-lab software market, so we list them. But every other row on this page is backed by a dated citation to a specific public page we checked, the same standard our /compare pages hold ourselves to. We have not yet completed that dated verification pass for Birlamedisoft or Medixcel, so rather than guess at their pricing or features, the table marks every dimension for both as not independently verified for this page. If you are evaluating either, ask them the same seven questions this page asks of everyone else, directly.

Related

Run a diagnostic lab?

HealthFlow answers the same seven questions this page asked every named vendor, in writing, on our own pricing page.

  • Published pricing. Every plan public, from ₹399/month, no quote-on-request step.
  • WhatsApp from your own number. Reports and bills sent from the lab’s dedicated number, tracked sent through delivered through read.
  • A statement for every referrer, not a report only you can see, sent on WhatsApp with an Excel export.

From ₹399/month, 10-day free trial, month-to-month, no lock-in. Full detail on the pricing page.

See where HealthFlow actually gates each plan.

A 20-minute WhatsApp demo, on your test volume, your referrers and your numbers.

Open HealthFlow’s lab information system
WhatsApp us Call
Book a demo